Posted by: lettersfromrome | June 26, 2008

My first few days in Rome

View of St. Peters from my dorm

 

Dear Mom,

 June 26, 2008, memorial

St. Josemaria Escriva

 

I made it to Rome alright.  It has been an amazing couple of days so far; we got to spend a few extra days in Rome, which turned out to be an unexpected gift.  Italian people are really laid back, they do not care about anything, whether it is important visa paperwork or wearing cloths.  Italians do not like wearing cloths in the summer time.  I enjoy their laid back lifestyle; I just wish they would wear more cloths.

 

I have been to St. Peters a few times; I was even taken down into the crypt and saw the bones of St. Peter.  They are kept in this glass box that was designed by NASA.  I was literally two feet from the bones of St. Peter himself, I could have touched them, but I didn’t.  Do not worry mom, I have not been kicked out of the Vatican yet.  The Swiss Guards have saluted me a few times though.

 Swiss Guard - my new best friend

It is probably a good thing you never got me that Swiss Guard uniform I asked for, I do not think it would have worked, all the Swiss Guards here seem to know each other and they are very serious about certain doors you are not allowed to go into.  I hope to make friends with them quickly.

 

So I am supposed to wear my clerics all the time right?  And I am walking around St. Peters and some of the other more touristy parts of Rome, and the only thing I can compare it to, is to being Mickey Mouse at Disneyworld.  Families just come up to you and want to get their picture taken with you.  It is the craziest thing ever.  I am probably already in like 40 family picture albums.  I think from now on if they do not have a digital camera I am going to start to make funny faces when they take the picture, that way they get home and can have a good laugh about the priest who they took the picture of.

 

I have been to several Churches here, I like to go exploring and find new churches.  One thing Rome has a ton of; it is churches, churches and saints.  Here is a list of the top three non-St. Peter saint bodies I have visited:

            Pope John Paul II (he will be a saint soon enough, so I am counting him)

            St. Josemaria Escriva

            St. Pius X

 

In addition to saints and churches another thing Rome has tons of is ice cream, but it is better then ice cream, it’s called gelato.  I have had gelato 4 times since my arrival, and it has been amazing every time.  So refreshing.  Do not worry though, I walk tons here every day and will definitely be loosing some weight over here.

 

I made friends with a bunch of the 5th year priests who study here and are going home for good soon, and took a bunch of stuff off their hands that it is not worth it for them to ship back.  It was like winning the jackpot; never underestimate how much God provides.

 

On Sunday I went to the Angelus and saw the Holy Father there, the blessing he gives extends to my family, so on Sunday you got blessed by the Pope.  Later on that day I got to sit in choir at evening prayer in St. Peters Basilica, the coolest part about that was I got to vest back in the sacristy of St. Peters and process in and out.  It was a pretty neat experience.

 

I leave tomorrow for Turin/the rehab program.  I think it will be a good experience.  I do not plan on using the internet very much if at all over there, so do not expect any posts for a few weeks.  I plan on really throwing myself into the community there and getting to know and live with them.

 

Today, June 26th, is the feast day of St. Josemaria Escriva, do not forget to ask for his intercession on this special day as I venture off to Turin.

 

St. Josemaria Escriva

 

“If things go well let’s rejoice, blessing God, who makes them prosper.  And if they go wrong?  Let’s rejoice, blessing God, who allows us to share the sweetness of his cross.”

            -St. Josemaria Escriva

 

St. Josemaria Escriva

Pray for us.

 

One final thing, Adam Haake is doing well; in the future I plan on waking him up in the morning by taking pictures of him and then posting those pictures on this site.

 

My New Room

 

With Love from Rome,

Your Son


Responses

  1. Adam,
    The view from your room is amazing. Hate to tell you that we have gelato in the USA. Where have you been the last 24 years?! Be good.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Why do these pictures on this blog not surprise me. Great to see everything is going well for you. Nice Room. After looking at the Swiss Guard uniform, I am so happy your Mom didn’t buy you one, because there is no doubt you would have gotten in trouble with it.

    Just got back from an incredible Steubenville experience in Colorado. Mother Cabrini’s Shrine was awesome. Everyone survived white water rafting, and the Royal Gorge, even though Steven was determined not to because of his fear of heights. Service day was stellar, the teens love serving the less fortunate.

    Off to Michigan tomorrow. I will be back from the next 3 trips just about the time you get back to the seminary. I hope you find rehabilitation in Turin. May God bless you and those you serve.

  3. Adam, thank you for sharing this. I was smiling the whole time I read the letter to your mom. Sounds like you will be seeing and doing some wonderful things. Keep sharing. Love, Aunt Elaine

  4. Your doing a great thing, I cried the day you left…I prayed for you to St. Jose Maria,,good luck with everything. I know you didnt ever like me that much, but I always looked up to you, so its really awesome. Your building the faith in all of us stronger and stronger with everything you are doing…I’ll continue to pray for you and your work, see you whenever I see you, good bye Father.

  5. I was on your web site… I enjoyed your letter to your mom very much. I also love the video… Thanks for keeping everybody updated in what happening to you.. I feel close to you when you do this… I would of touched St. Peter thou… Ha……. I miss you very much.. Happy Birthday..
    I love you
    Dad

  6. Is there anyway we can get adam haake to come and be a professional model for my professional modeling company, you know because I am a professional model too. You may know me for my ‘blue steel’, which I really shouldn’t be talking about right now because it hasn’t been revealed yet. Anyway tell Adam Haake that he’s down with the DZ.


Leave a comment

Categories